### BARTLETT PUBLIC LIBRARY DISTRICT SPECIAL LIBRARY BOARD OF TRUSTEES MEETING MINUTES

Saturday, May 13, 2017 10:00 a.m.

## Location: Library Meeting Room 800 South Bartlett Road, Bartlett, IL 60103 630-837-2855

The Special Board Meeting was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by President Barry.

The following Trustees were present: Sias, DeSmidt, Bucaro, Darge, Hopkins, Barry. Trustee Byron was absent.

Also present: Joe Olsen

#### Town hall:

Patron Joe Olsen expressed his concerns and questions as to how the appointment of the open seat was filled in February of 2017.

#### **ADJOURNMENT:**

Trustee Darge made a motion to adjourn into Executive Session. The motion was seconded by Trustee Hopkins. The motion was approved. Meeting adjourned into Executive Session at 10:03 a.m.

The Board went into Executive Session at 10:05 a.m. (as permitted by 5 ILCS 120/2 (3)—The selection of a person to fill a public office, as defined in this Act, including a vacancy in a public office, when the public body is given power to appoint under law or ordinance, or the discipline, performance or removal of the occupant of a public office, when the body is given power to remove the occupant under law or ordinance.)

# **Trustee Vacancy-Appointment:**

The Bartlett Public Library District Board interviewed and discussed five potential Trustee Candidates.

Trustee Byron arrived at 10:40 a.m.

Trustee Darge made a motion to go back into regular session at 11:45a.m. Trustee Barry seconded the motion and the motion was approved. Present were Trustees John Sias, Lynn DeSmidt, Peggy Bucaro, Francine Byron, Heidi Hopkins, Bryan Darge and Dave Barry.

Also present was Library Director Karolyn Nance.

Trustee Darge made a motion to appoint Eric Shipman to the open Trustee position through May of 2019. Trustee Bucaro seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken and all votes were Ayes. The motion was approved.

#### **ADJOURNMENT:**

There being no further business, a motion to adjourn was made by Trustee Darge. It was seconded by Trustee Hopkins. The motion was approved. The meeting adjourned at 11:54 a.m.